Apple Silicon M1 24-inch iMac review: Computing power for the masses

Comments

• Reply 21 of 52
    StrangeDaysStrangeDays Posts: 12,834member
    jeromec said:
    In the text of the review:
    "Putting the Ethernet port on suitably configured machines on the AC/DC transformer makes perfect sense, given that you're getting wired networking and power from a socket of some sort on a wall."

In the Process/Cons section, listed as a con:
    "Optional Ethernet moved to power brick"

So, do you think it is a pro or a con???
    (It's definitely a Pro in my opinion)
    Both. It’s nice that it’s on the power brick. It’s bad that at $1299, it costs extra.
    Eh. I’ve got a fully loaded 2019, and a loaded 2011 before that, and I’m a FT enterprise software dev. I’ve never used my ethernet port in all those years, only wifi. Maybe photographers transferring massive files to Adobe cloud would need it, but not people using the entry-level machine. Entry-level users have entry-level needs. Wifi is very appropriate for them. A demanding user won’t be using the entry-level configuration. 
    williamlondonwatto_cobra
  • Reply 22 of 52
    thedba said:
    darkvader said:
    tedz98 said:
    I have a new strategy for Mac purchases: I’m buying a Mac mini M1 and a nice monitor. I’ll buy a low end Mini which makes it affordable and easy to upgrade by replacing it. This way I can have the benefits of new compute technology every 2-3 years without having to pay for the cost of the monitor.

My strategy is to pick up Intel Macs for as cheap as I can as quickly as I can.  I'm not going to M1, I've been through too many architecture changes already, and I'm not doing this one.  I've used the M1s, and contrary to the reports, they're slower than Intel in real world use.

I figure the last Mac I'll ever get will be an Intel Mac Pro in a few years.  Maybe a 16" Intel MBP.  And that'll be it for the Mac, I'm already making friends with Xubuntu.