Freedom of Religion

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
So all the talk I've been hearing has been about the reconstruction of Iraq. My question is: will there be freedom of religion?

I doubt it. In all honesty, freedom of religion is not a tenet of Islam. (I studied the rise of Islam in college.) So how "free" will Iraq be? Opinions?

Personally, I have no problems with someone being Muslim, as long as they are willing and sincere. How many people in the Middle East would convert (not necessarily to Christianity either) if they didn't have a gun pointed at their heads? Rebuttals?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 14
    mrmistermrmister Posts: 1,095member
    Hard to say. There aren't any arab democracies either, so it is difficult to tell how things will be panning out.

Though if they manage a democracy, there may be some kind of religious tolerance, as there are a number of competing sects and faiths in Iraq...and not all are small enough to be easily marginalized.
  • Reply 2 of 14
    powerdocpowerdoc Posts: 8,123member
    There is many religions in Iraq already, including Christians. Iraq is built on a Mozaique of tribes, which various religions, Shiite, sunnites, christians .... Unlike Iran, Iraq people are not very big about religions. I doubt that Iraq will become a theocratic (read muslim) state like Iran.
  • Reply 3 of 14
    newnew Posts: 3,244member
    What kind of freedom of religion are you talking about?

Will iraq remain a "quasi-secular" state?

Will it be more secular (like turkey)?

Or less (with a state religion, sunni or shi'a)?

I don't get the question.
  • Reply 4 of 14
    der kopfder kopf Posts: 2,275member
    Quote:

Originally posted by New

What kind of freedom of religion are you talking about?

I think he meant the kind of freedom that allows you to be a christian, or a buddhist, or whatever, and not be prosecuted for it.
  • Reply 5 of 14
    Quote:

Originally posted by der Kopf