Anyone use Netboot?

Posted:
in macOS edited January 2014
I am considering seeting up a Netboot disk image for my IT tools (Norton, Disk Warrior, etc.). Why run around the building with fragile, slow, CDs when I can just Netboot! All my workstations are New World ROM boxes, so it should work.

Anyone done this?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 5
    As a network admin for a large high school.. I was considering doing the same. thing. Sadly our macs are about 50% new world ROM and 50% beige G3's. I just started playing around with netboot... and I'm really liking it. It's making me consider buying more xserves so i can netboot everything!! :-)

I have not yet developed a perfect 'repair' image.. but I was able to netboot both OS X and OS 9 images. I plan to use this to netboot my new labs this summer for the purpose of installing the new disk images for the next school year.
  • Reply 2 of 5
    sarcsarc Posts: 14member
    I have implemented it, and used it in a School.

We only had 10/100 switches so eventually they collapsed, so here is what we did.

Macintosh Manager, leaving all "normal" macs as terminals with a user and password prompt.

Student uses his/hers personal login, get his preferences from XServe.

NetBoot implemented for backup purposes only i.e. fried HDD, student boots from server, and again uses his/her l/p ad gets personal files.

NetInstall also available with fresh install of a normal iMac, when new HDD's arrive you just netinstall everything ...

that way network traffic was minimum and backup wise the server works in optimal condtions.

Sarc
  • Reply 3 of 5
    dstranathandstranathan Posts: 1,717member
    Is it safe to use one of my OS X 10.2.4 file servers for a Netboot server, or should I build a special OS X box dedicated to Netboot services? Like I said above, I am using it only for IT-related tools and troubleshooting.