powerbook 12" performance

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
First of all, Hello!

I'm a student wanting to switch to mac. I hope os x will be much better than Win xp.

I've never really worked on a mac, but I've had the chance to use a 17" powerbook for a few minutes. That was the best-looking notebook I've ever used :-).

Since I'm looking for a small notebook, I'm particulary interessted in the 12" powerbook. Since I've never really used a mac please help me with the following questios I still have.

* Is there a big speed difference in daily tasks between the 12" and the 17" powerbook?

* I want do use my apple-notebook for about 5 years. Is this realistic? And would the new 900MHz ibook also do the job?

* Are the display properties similar to the 17" ones (brightness, viewing-angle...)?

* Will expanded-monitor mode work if I use an external Monitor with a different resolution then the powerbooks internal resolution(1024*768 + 1600*1200)?

* has anybody had bad experiences with logitech mouseman traveller (the aluminium one) with the powerbook?

* Using Virtual-PC 6 on the powerbook, can I expect similar performance to a celeron based 500MHz PC (using windows 2000 or xp pro)?

* Would you highly recommend any software beside the included (Mplayer; MS office v.x...)?

Any other advices to a future switcher are welcome. By the way, Mac do play divx and xvid, don't they?

I hope this is the right forum to post this tread.

Thank you for the moment!

Comments

• Reply 1 of 22
    chychchych Posts: 860member
    1ghz vs 867mhz between the 17" and 12", so not /too/ much difference. You can look around for benchmarks but for most uses it will be quite adequate. 5 years is a long time, that would be like running a Powerbook G3/233mhz around right now... but yeah...