Career Advice

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Hello,

I am seeking some career advice and I hope someone on these boards can help me out. I want to become a programmer and am not sure of the path I need to take to get there.

Brief History:

I obtained my B.S. in Forensic Chemistry in 1994 and I am currently working for a pharmaceutical company administrating computer systems in a quality control laboratory. Although most of my jobs involves IT/IS functions, I am not IS/IT, nor is my job title really worded as such. I held a similar position to my current one for about 2 years at my previous company.

Over the past couple of years, I have had some programming opportunities (mostly automating laboratory processes through VBA) and some limited database programming (through DAO and ADO). I really enjoyed my opportunities. I am also a bit of a hobbyist programmer on the side (both Mac and PC) and feel I would like to try programming full time. I am willing to start my career over again if I have to to do this.

I am looking for recommendations for the best way to pursue my goal. So far, I received the following advice from people:

1. I go back to school obtain a second degree (in CIS or CS). Currently I only have my B.S. in forensic chemistry.

2. Obtain some type of certifications (i.e., Network + or a MCP). I currently do not have any certifications. The programming certifications that are out there appear to be more oriented to people with a few years of programming experience.

3. Continue and learn the latest development tools and write some simple programming demos and include them with my resume.

4. Try and start a small consulting business.

Each bit of advice has it positives and negatives associate with it. I do have a family and cannot simply quit my day job to go back to school full time days (has to be nights) or quit to take temp jobs.

What I am looking for is the best way to pursue my goal.

Thanks in advance for assistance.

Dave K.