Desk idea...

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
What do you think?

Back around Christmas, I was talking to someone - a fellow LCD iMac owner - and he was talking about how, in his small apartment, he'd like a cool platform/stand for his iMac.

I came home and started looking around, thinking about all the wasted space and weird quirks about MY desk and how I, taking into account the peripherals I own, my working style, my absolute HATRED of big, clunky stuff and wasted space, etc., how I would come up with a desk that would hold everything I had, Mac-wise, would be small (I, too, am in a small place), keeps cables neat, looks "Apple-y", etc.

The iTree is what I came up with. I've never done this sort of thing before, really. But I kinda think it's cool. It certainly is for me and if I knew how to weld or work with materials, I'd put one together.

My Dad, upon seeing my plans, remarked that "you know, the whole 'tree' thing lends itself to some neat ideas..." and then we started talking about how - perhaps in an office environment or other situation with multiple Macs - a roomful of several of these would be called a "forest".

Then we started calculating how much space would/could be saved and I saw dollar signs in my head and the whole bit.

Oh well. Anyway...the iTree:

Remember: this is for me, how I work, what I own, etc. May not work for everyone. But I'd love something like the above that would hold all my stuff and take up less than a circular yard of floorspace doing it.

If I knew any 3D programs, I'd build this in it. It's a work in progress, always getting tweaked and refined, so bear that in mind too.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 7
    pscatespscates Posts: 5,847member
    A little more info (in case it's not obvious from the illustration):

- a "rooted tree" is the overall idea. Legs/roots splayed out at the bottom for support (I'm no physicist, so don't ask me about lengths, angles, etc.).