Suggestions wanted for Os X apps to replace windows apps

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
hi, i'm getting an ibook soon, with os x

but i'm a first time mac user and there are some applications i know i just cant do without, i was wondering if anyone had any decent suggestions for freeware/shareware or cheapish solutions.

1. dictionary? i'm used to oxford reference shelf which i got off a cover cd years ago and i find as a writer i use it alot but i haven't heard of any dictionaries for mac's. if there were any i would expect to pay a good price but i have no idea if there even are any

2. text editor with thesaurus function. i know os x comes with a standard texteditor with spellcheck but nothing was said about thesaurus... and i know i don't want microsoft office v.X, can't afford it.

3.divx player? last i knew running a divx on quicktime required converting it with divxdoctor which took ages but then that was on mac os 9. anyone know about this?

4. something similar to gator? i find gator quite useful, it fills in forms automatically, haven't seen gator for mac or anything similar around so far.

5. antivirus software? only one i heard of was by intego, net barrier. but i have no idea whats best or whats good value.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 16
    teddyteddy Posts: 155member
    Your set on the dictionary front. Sherlock has a great one.

Text Editor with thesouras(terrible speller) AppleWorks will do the trick

Don't know much about the others. I wouldn't worry to much about virus' on the mac though. I have never had a problem I don't think there are to many of them. Virex 7 will do though. Hope I helped you a little.javascript:smilie('')
  • Reply 2 of 16
    cowerdcowerd Posts: 579member
    1. You can use Omnigroup's OmniDictionary which is front end to dict.org dictionary servers, though it requires a network connection. If you have any tech capability you can setup a DICT server on your own machine. Instructions here: