Other than PhotoShop, what else???

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
Okay, I'm a photo student and am expecting PhotoShop 7 any day now. This question goes out to any Pro Photographers on this board. Other than PS what other programs should I consider for my mac. Anything not particularly obvious come in handy in your work in the pro photo world???

Comments

• Reply 1 of 17
    ast3r3xast3r3x Posts: 5,012member
    Quote:

Originally posted by LiquidR

Okay, I'm a photo student and am expecting PhotoShop 7 any day now. This question goes out to any Pro Photographers on this board. Other than PS what other programs should I consider for my mac. Anything not particularly obvious come in handy in your work in the pro photo world???

knockout, painter...something that is really impressive...QuickMats
  • Reply 2 of 17
    ibrowseibrowse Posts: 1,749member
    Graphic Converter comes in pretty handy for a lot of stuff that isn't worth the time it takes to start Photoshop, pretty nice app too.
  • Reply 3 of 17
    tchwojkotchwojko Posts: 139member
    GIMP on X11 on the Mac?
  • Reply 4 of 17
    i work at a photography studio, and i was just listing some of the stuff we use to make some hella good looking stuff
  • Reply 5 of 17
    ibrowseibrowse Posts: 1,749member
    Quote:

Originally posted by tchwojko

GIMP on X11 on the Mac?

Works great if you don't want to spend the cash on Photoshop, for a lot of people it has every thing you'd need. I like a few of the Script-Fu's for creating patterns for background design.
  • Reply 6 of 17
    At a student discount the entire Adobe Design collection isn't too much more. If you do your own promotional material, it can come in handy. Sometimes there's a back-to-school special that will include GoLive as well. You might need to post your work to the web when you're looking for work. Or if things go slow, you might be selling wedding photos/web packages
  • Reply 7 of 17
    jaredjared Posts: 639member