Apple solution instead of Windows based "Live Production environment"

zozo
Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Hey all,

At my job my boss sent around an email asking what we think of a NewTek Videotoaster solution.

Quote:

The Video Toaster?

NewTek is making history again, this time with a Windows 2000/XP-based product called Video Toaster® [2], the world's first live production environment on your desktop.

http://www.newtek.com/products/video...ers-price.html

I'd really want to get (suggest) an Apple solution... but we dont have a HUGE budget. We have one mac in the office (the one I'm using) the rest are Windows and Linux stations. The engineers are generally open to the idea of using a MacOS X and have been floating around my unit with interest.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 7
    gizzmonicgizzmonic Posts: 511member
    What exactly are you trying to do?

Could you be more specific?

I'm a video editor with about 5 years experience and I've worked crew on live TV shows and special events lots of times, maybe I can give you some advice
  • Reply 2 of 7
    zozo Posts: 3,117member
    Im in Satellite business. Our department deals with MPEG 4 streams, MPEG 2 (DVB), and everything in between.

We would want to be able to take in live feeds that are transmitted in MPEG 4, re-encode to MPEG 2, do video editing, etc... all live.

My boss is convinced that this is the ultimate tool to be able to do this, and only costs approx 5000eur (5200usd).

I wouldnt even know if an Apple solution would be 'compatible' with all the various formats and stuff.

Still, basically, he wants the ability to encode, edit, etc on the fly.

Imagine getting a live feed in MPEG4 from a portable solution, being able to edit the MPEG4, re-encode in the meantime to MPEG2 to another satellite feed, broadcasting.