Total Mac newbie seeks buying advice

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Greetings all.

I'm moving out in early August, so I'm looking at getting a new computer. I would go PC based on my financial situation if the University I will attend eventually didn't strongly advise getting a mac for the lab. (The Graphic Design lab asks you to leave your computer in their lab ) So, I'm a moderately cashless student looking at what/where the best deal is. I work in Painter, Photoshop, Flash, and Illustrator mainly.

I'm currently looking at getting an eMac because it seems the most affordable. I'd definitely want to add RAM to it.(I don't know if eMacs are harder to upgrade.)

Is it smarter to buy from apple.com or a reseller? (Which reseller is best if so)

Are the current batch of eMacs a good purchase?

Will I notice an appreciable difference between the 800 Mhz and 1 Ghz? (M9150LL/A and M8950LL/A)

Are there any forthcoming "bumps" in models or technology that I should wait for in the next few months (2-4)?

Thank you for any and all help. I hope none of these questions sound lame. \

Comments

• Reply 1 of 11
    cyclecycle Posts: 187member
    the emac is a great deal...get the ghz model

but i would recommend a 12" or 14" ibook with combo drive 900mhz

and maybe ask in july again
  • Reply 2 of 11
    mcqmcq Posts: 1,543member
    Since it sounds like you won't need a new computer for a couple months, wait for a month or two and see what Apple brings out... if Apple does bring out PPC 970 Powermacs, then price drops will occur in the current line which may allow the current PM to be an option. I don't think that technology bumps of any great magnitude will trickle into the iMac/eMac lines during your timeframe, but if you're willing to spend around $1300 then see if you can get a refurb 1GHz PM... I see one right now around $1269 at Powermax.
  • Reply 3 of 11
    gabidgabid Posts: 477member