Let's rant about Microsoft Word!

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
C'mon! It'll be fun!

There are so many things I hate about this program! The first reason being that I'm practically forced to use it simply by virtue of the fact that everyone else does! Every document I create, most likely I'm going to email it to someone else. And they have to be able to open it with their Microsoft Word! And I'm a freelancer. If people can't open my documents, they won't be patient. They won't even tell me they can't open the attachment! They'll just move on to the next person.

Sigh. So Word it is, grumble grumble.

I figure I'm not the only one stuck in this predicament. I thought it would be fun to have a big venting session.

I hate Word because:

1. You try to highlight some text and it scrolls so fast, it's hard to grab just a paragraph. It automatically thinks you must want to grab the whole page! So it scrolls fast!

2. If you're trying to highlight part of a word, it thinks it's smarter than you, and you must want to highlight the WHOLE word! It does it for you automatically. For example, if you have the sentence "I feel badly about skipping dinner" and wanted to edit it to simply say "I feel bad" you would highlight right before the -ly in badly, and grab the rest of the sentence, too, and just hit delete, right? Well Word will grab the whole 'badly' word for you, because that's surely what you meant, right? Grrrr.

3. They claim Word Office X is revolutionary! Totally different! Looks like the same old crap to me!

4. That annoying paper-clip assistant. (Or whatever form you choose... still annoying. Worst of all, RARELY helpful, even when I have a question.)