My ignorance.

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Okay, I'm a newbie on AI and a neophyte to the world of computing. But what the heck is Front Side Bus, what does it do??? What is 32bit processing and 64bit processing really. Does that equate at all to Photo Shop performance? What exactly makes the 1.8Ghz 970 comparable to the 3Ghz P4?

For the ignorant, like myself, larger numbers for processing power make immediate sense, and for those aquaintted to reading on, like myself, know that a lot of the times the numbers are only half the story. Please, explain it as if you were explaining it to your 13 year old sister.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 4
    snoopysnoopy Posts: 1,901member
    Quote:

Originally posted by LiquidR

. . . Please, explain it as if you were explaining it to your 13 year old sister.

That's easy, because I'm just learning some of this myself. Maybe an expert will correct my mistakes here.

Front side bus is the normal bus that connects a processor to other stuff, like the main memory. Backside bus is for small amounts of special high speed memory, called a cache.

32 bit and 64 bits are the size of the "registers" in the processor. The bigger the register, the bigger the numbers that the processor handles quickly. If the register is too small for the number, the processor takes longer to work on it. For most stuff we use a Mac for, it will make no difference. For stuff that uses big numbers, it will help a lot.

As for the MHz of a processor, or clock rate, think of an engine. One factor is its RPM. The higher the RPM it can turn, the more horsepower it has. There are other factors, like displacement, or its cubic inches, which also affect horsepower. It turns out that the cubic inches are more important than RPM. Same is true for processors. Clock rate is only factor in determining the computing power of a processor. You can tune a small engine to run at very high RPM, but a really big engine will out-perform it.
  • Reply 2 of 4