When would be a good time to purchase an iBook?

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Howdy everyone, I'm new here, I just discovered this forum a few days ago. I'm interested in purchasing a new iBook. I'm not in a situation where I 'must' do it now. I currently have a 500 MHz G3 based iMac and I am quite happy with it. I am a full-time student and I am majoring in Information Systems, I have one more semester after the current one and I will be finished with school, at least for now :-). I have a PC laptop that I bought for school and when I am finished with school I plan to sell it. With all the buzz about big changes at Apple and a new line of processors, I'm wondering if I should get one of the current iBooks when the new models come out or if I should wait to get one of the redesigned ones. Do you guys think that the newer ones will still be able to run OS 9? I use both OS 9.1 and 10.2.6 on my iMac. Has anyone heard or have any ideas what, if any, changes are coming for the iBooks? I'm hoping that the newer ones will be able to hold/use more that 640 KB of RAM and that they will finally have USB 2.0. A faster FSB wouldn't hurt either. Thanks for your input and suggestions.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 6
    toweltowel Posts: 1,479member
    I think that now would be a good time to buy an iBook. Wait and see what happens at WWDC, of course, but the iBooks were just updated a couple months ago, and recent rumors have all been swirling around the Powerbooks. It usually takes a while for upgrades to trickle down to the iBooks, so I really don't see them getting a major overhaul (new motherboard, new CPU, more RAM, etc) until next year. Bassed on recent history (see MacRumors.com's buyer's guide), there'll probably be a speed bump in the late fall and a major upgrade next spring or fall.