AppleOffice Speculation

dcqdcq
Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
I posted this originally in a thread in Future Hardware. But nobody really responded. (Instead people started talking about gyroscopes...don't ask why...) I'd actually really like to hear people's thoughts on this, whether or not you think Apple can or should pull this off, etc.

Quote:

"...You hear they are moving File Maker back in-house?"

Thank-frikkin-gawd!

Filemaker used to be the shiznit back when I sold Macs for a living (or, more accurately, an air-quote living). Lots of people loved Filemaker.

Ever since they spun it off, it's just been plain old shiznit.

I frankly haven't kept up with it in the past few years. But for those more in the know thatn me, how difficult/desirable would it be to have Filemaker be a combo speadsheet and db app, as part of MacOffice (TM)? Should it be a "combo" app, or should Apple create a new one from scratch?

So would it look like this?

AppleOffice Suite

- Document (Word processing)

- Mail (duh)

- Filemaker (DB...+ spreadsheet?)

- iSpread (spreadsheet if necessary)

- Keynote (duh)

- iCal (duh)

- iChat ("no techies required" videoconferencing)

- Address Book (duh)

- Safari (duh)

- Quicktime Pro (just for the hell of it, and so that annoying upgrade message doesn't pester employees...or just remove the pop-up from the non-pro version)

Note that the only thing missing is the word processing and spreadsheet bits (they are the most important too).

Of course, it would have to be perfectly/seemlessly compatible with MS Office (particularly Document and the spreadsheet app; keynote already is). Have a preference where documents can be saved as MS Word docs by default. It would also have to come close to MS Office's functionality (though Word has a lot of crap that 99% of users don't use or even know about), and exceed its usability.