Buying Advice: Canon i850 vs i950

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Having passed off my Epson Stylus 740 on my parents, I'm in the market for a new printer. I have two competing uses. First, as a college student, I have to write lots of papers so text quality is very important (speed is important, but a secondary concern). Second, I've taken a lot of pictures over the past year with my Coolpix 885 that I'd like to turn into prints. Third, cost is a very important factor (given that I'm still a student).

From all the reviews that I've read, it seems as though the Canon i950 is the best consumer photo printer, but that the i850 holds its own quite well despite only being a 4 color printer. On the downside, the i950 seems slow, and I can't gauge how good its text output is. Plus, the i850 is $100 cheaper out of the gate. However, the long term factor I'd be curious in is which is cheaper with regard to replacing ink and such.

So what I want to know is whether the extra $100 for the i950 is worth it. How much difference do Light Cyan and Light Magenta make? And if I'm shelling out the extra money for the i950, will the text output be adequate if I'm writing 6-8 papers a quarter? Thanks in advance for any advice. And if you think I should look at manufacturers other than Canon, let me know (I was just drawn to the idea of having individual ink tanks for each color).

Comments

• Reply 1 of 5
    xionjaxionja Posts: 504member
    hmmm, I have the Canon i850. Its alright, although for its price, I am really pretty dissapointed. I've been trying out different inks, but be warned, that the i850 eats up ink, so i'd bet that the i950 does too. You can go to Karrot ink for cheap compatible ink cartridges, but the quality difference is visible.