Any comments on making the switch from PC?

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Just wonder if anybody here made the switch and went back or if they are now happy. I've said for the last three upgrades that I was going to go Apple... Seems like every time I go to upgrade, I see the price difference ($1000 vs $2000) and chicken out.

I'm a musician, so I can see a benefit for recording my music. And the interface looks really nice. I'm a professional Java developer as well, so how is the platform for Java?

Anybody know of any statistics on if/how many PC users are making the switch. How many are satisfied? How many switch back?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 24
    The other question is, if I decide to abandon all my high end audio cards (PCI bus) and decide to go for the iMac 17 inch to save a little money, will I then be able to take that 17 inch LCD with me to my next upgrade, or am I stuck with an expensive paper-weight?
  • Reply 2 of 24
    gargoylegargoyle Posts: 660member
    1. Who says you have to abandon your high end PCI cards ? I have a friend that uses pro tools. He started on a PC but was getting pauses and pops in his sound so he switched to a dual 1Ghz PowerMac using the same sound input hardware.

2. As far as I know, the iMac has no video in. The only way to know if you can use the screen with another computer would be to open it up and see about some sort of adapter for the wires inside. Mine is only 5 months old, and I am not ready to pop the lit yet.
  • Reply 3 of 24
    paulpaul Posts: 5,278member
    its a paperweight... look for a used dual 867 MDD, probably the best bet right now, if you can find it cheap... ($1000 or so)

have you seen the 1.25 GHz machines on apple's website? they are near the bottom of the store, starting at $1300 for a single. not too bad...
  • Reply 4 of 24
    I would have to abandon PCI IF I went to iMac because there is no PCI slot.