Web design GURUs: going from HTML to...less work :0)

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
I remember the day 4 years ago when I asked my brother how on earth can I make a web site. And he said "14 year olds can do it, so can you" so off I went to a paid geocities plan and used their html editor to whip of a few sites.

I am now a self-taught web designer who has created quite a few websites using HTML ONLY (no editors to help with forms or anything):

Sample:

ART4CHILDREN

and have done a few web sites for some artist friends. I want to learn to do interfaces, like the one my friend did for our art group site:

QAE ARTISTS *where you can click any text and be taken to that link.

NOW I am TIRED of html, and feel like it will help me "see" just how a program like Dreamweaver and the like work. I want to see what you folks would recommend for someone that wants things simplified where my nose won't be in tutorials and books for too long--one that can let me learn as I go (fat chance you say?). I would love to learn flash too -- and teach it all to myself. I heard that if I learned HTML, these programs that do it all for you- should be easy.

I would appreciate any links to any programs that you think would be a step up from the torture I have been putting myself thru.

I DL'd the demo to Dreamweaver MX and I am not in love with it. Someone suggested Frontpage, but that ain't happening.

I think I am a fast learner?

Thanks for any suggestions!

Jessica (encinitas CA)[

Comments

• Reply 1 of 32
    cosmonutcosmonut Posts: 4,872member
    Give Dreamweaver some time. I guarantee? that you'll like it a lot better after you get to know it better. It, combined with its studio buddies make for a good time in the end.

Oh, a hint: Library items are your FRIENDS!!!
  • Reply 2 of 32
    macusersmacusers Posts: 840member