Webdesign newbie

2»

Comments

• Reply 21 of 33
    I started out using GoLive and then gradually got to the point where I write everything by hand. Now that I have converted over to using CSS layout instead of tables, that has gotten a lot easier. I would dispute the statement that hand coding lets you understand rendering problems. All the browsers have their own inexplicable set of definiciencies, and there is a lot of trial and error testing when you hand code.

I still say starting with a good graphical editor is perfectly fine though, and DW is the best, and it is the way to go if you just want to throw together something decent quickly right at the first. Eventually, if you want to be a pro you should to learn to code by hand. Sadly though, in the current environment, just by not using Frontpage you are already in the top 50 percent.

Whenever anyone starts talking smack about html I like to check out their site. I'm just an amateur but here is mine-- if you go to the archive you can see how my style developed over the years:

www.utm.edu/~mharvey

fm
  • Reply 22 of 33
    scarecrowscarecrow Posts: 148member
    Knowing the language, is the most important aspect of building professional level sites...

And that is the part, that I think most of the people in this thread who disagree, are missing...

If you want to do personal level sites, then you do not need to know the languages at all... that is true.

But, if you are going to do this for a living, it is vital that you know all that you can... period.

As for content vs design vs code....

Content is irregardless. A good design seperated the content from the code, completely. So, no matter what the content, it is displayed fine...