Can Apple protect their ad style against copycats?

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
I just saw a Time Warner Cable commercia in which a customer stands in a completely white background and complains about how he can't get satellite to work right, etc. It even had the quirky music in the background. This is an obvious ripoff of switch commercials. Too bad their advertising agency isn't creative enough to figure out their own stuff

Comments

• Reply 1 of 16
    johnqjohnq Posts: 2,763member
    Wow, you must have been like, having a life for the last 2 years. You need to watch more TV. But then maybe I watch too much. :

I've been groaning to myself for about 2 years while dozens of various lazy ad producers rip off that style with abandon.

Apple should do what they do best. Be smug in knowing they set the standard, then move on to creating a new one, letting the rest scamble to again copy them.
  • Reply 2 of 16
    macusersmacusers Posts: 840member
    i think the IBM psychiatrist commercials are like the only original commercials out there
  • Reply 3 of 16
    Quote:

Originally posted by johnq

Wow, you must have been like, having a life for the last 2 years. You need to watch more TV. But then maybe I watch too much. :

I've been groaning to myself for about 2 years while dozens of various lazy ad producers rip off that style with abandon.

Apple should do what they do best. Be smug in knowing they set the standard, then move on to creating a new one, letting the rest scamble to again copy them.

Yeah, I've been busy. I have noticed that Hershey's ads are very similar as well. Oh well. I guess if you can't create...copy. Just more proof that everyone wants to be like Apple, they just don't want to admit it.
  • Reply 4 of 16
    macusersmacusers Posts: 840member
    even Hershey's wants to be like Apple.. wow
  • Reply 5 of 16
    ast3r3xast3r3x Posts: 5,012member