Apple Digital Camera?

Comments

• Reply 21 of 76
    ensign pulverensign pulver Posts: 1,193member
    Quote:

Originally posted by Clive

This is a false premise to start off with, digital cameras are cheap, easy to use and easy to get your files from. All the manufacturers offer "iPhoto" style software to catalogue your images with, and for those that want more there's iPhoto or commercial applications.

Apple simply does not have a unique proposition to enter this market.

This kind of "it's easy enough to use already" argument is all too common among the computer literate. In fact, I was guilty of it myself. I was a Mac pro, worked at a big time Hollywood design studio and made fun of anyone confused by technology. Then I became a full-time Mac consultant to consumers, small businesses and Edu and learned that people are RETARDED, when it comes to ANYTHING to do with computers. I could tell you stories you honestly wouldn't believe. I can assure you that for 99% of people, digital cameras and their bundled software, even iPhoto, are NOT "easy enough to use."

My own real-life mother is the smartest person I've ever met. Harvard Law degree, speaks three languages, the whole nine yards. When it comes to her iMac though, she can still only barely handle email. A year ago we bought her a Canon digital Elph and a Canon ZR45 camcorder. She takes stills with the Elph fairly often, but not nearly as frequently as we all (and she) assumed she would. More tellingly, in that time she has shot exactly one iMovie of a trip up the California coast.

I asked her why she doesn't use the camcorder more often and she said: "It's just for big events. It's a hassle with the tapes and that carrying bag with all those cables and keeping the battery charged."

Just a few weeks ago I got her an iPod. After several hilarious hours of getting her head around the concept ("I don't understand, where are the songs?") she is now in love with the thing and uses it daily.