New(er) iMAC

Posted:
in Future Apple Hardware edited January 2014
I'm a newbie to the forum and to Insider. My kids have been asking for a 17" iMAC and I'm ready to order one for them. My only question is that in trolling the forum I've seen references that the iMac is going to have another revision, due in August, and that it'll be a 7457 at perhaps 1.2 GHz (to paraphrase)and maybe even a reduction in price (I won't hold my breath). How true is that? If it's just a matter of holding off a few weeks to grab more processing power then I'm most willing to be patient and order then. If it's longer term then I'm willing to pull the trigger on the 1Ghz iMAC now. tx.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 23
    Well, I would personally wait for the whole line of Macintosh systems go to the G5 plateform. The only computer that will probably stay none G5 is the iBook. That will probably stay at G4 for it's lifetime. As again, I would wait until the iMac turns G5, more performance for your dollar.
  • Reply 2 of 23
    BTW, this belongs in General Discussion.
  • Reply 3 of 23
    yevgenyyevgeny Posts: 1,148member
    The iMac is badly in need of a refresh. Don't buy one right now, it is about as bad as it can get in terms of price/performance. A refresh is certainly coming that will have a better CPU, more RAM, larger HD, and probably a better video card. I don't have any insider information, this is just what the iMac needs to get closer to being competetive.
  • Reply 4 of 23
    I don't really keep up with the iMac product cycle, so I can't tell you when it is likey to be updated again, but it does seem like the rumor sites are anticipating minor updates.

My guess is that it will remain G4 for at least one more update.

Considerations:

Right now the bottom of the 17" iMac is $1799, but you can get a refurbished one from Apple for $1599 (of course taxes then add a nifty sum if you are in a high-tax state).