It's my first time: should I root?

Posted:
in Genius Bar edited January 2014
I had to do an archive and install after some very scary weirdness two days ago. My machine hung on 'Waiting for netinfo' booting up; I couldn't boot from CD at all and starting up from an external hard drive in OS9 my own lovely hard drive wouldn't show up anywhere. It was very strange and I was very worried.

Anyways.

It's sorted now, but I have a Previous Systems folder with nearly a gigabyte of old system files and applications. They're all owned by root so I can't get rid of them.

Is there anything stopping me from logging in as root and putting them in the trash?

What's the best thing to do here?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 16
    cubedudecubedude Posts: 1,556member
    Don't log in as root. That can be dangerous.

You can try Pseudo from Brian Hill.

http://personalpages.tds.net/~brian_hill/pseudo.html

Or you can go the more complicated route with the "sudo" command in the Terminal. Ask if you want instructions.
  • Reply 2 of 16
    der kopfder kopf Posts: 2,275member
    Quote:

Originally posted by CubeDude

Or you can go the more complicated route with the "sudo" command in the Terminal. Ask if you want instructions.

Which is actually not that hard at all. All you do is open the terminal, type

Code:

sudo rm -dfr

and then (before pressing enter) drop the folder on the Terminal window (don't you just love drag 'n drop shell windows?) with all the old system files you wish to delete, THEN press enter.
  • Reply 3 of 16
    Hey, I didn't know that one. I always used:

Code:

sudo

rm /FolderToRemove

And then Ctrl-D twice to logout.
  • Reply 4 of 16
    aquafireaquafire Posts: 2,758member
    Quote:

Code:

sudo

rm /FolderToRemove

Yep, there's always something new I can learn.. thanx
  • Reply 5 of 16
    Quote:

Code:

sudo

rm /FolderToRemove