Article Mentioning an Apple PDA? (Fran?)

124»

Comments

• Reply 61 of 66
    blackcatblackcat Posts: 697member
    [quote]Originally posted by Cable:

<strong>The Amiga is not dead yet, and it isn't underpowered either.

<a href="http://www.eyetech.co.uk/amigaone/300502update.php"; target="_blank">http://www.eyetech.co.uk/amigaone/300502update.php</a>;

They have a G4 700Mhz version ready to go as soon as AmigaOS 4.0 comes out. It no longer needs an Amiga 1200 as a host, it is a stand alone computer now. If only they had the marketing and the dealers, they could challenge Apple.

[ 07-07-2002: Message edited by: Cable ]</strong><hr></blockquote>

I was an Amiga developer for 7 years (including CD32) and that thing is no Amiga. For a start there never was AmigaOS, it was AmigaDOS & Workbench. But most importantly the custom chips are gone - Paula, Agnes, Denise & Gary - which makes AmigaOne a nice PPC based box with an obscure OS.

I'm all for keeping the fabulous memory alive, but I hate the deranged idea that the magic can be recaptured - it will just be soiled.

Give MacOS X draggable screens and chequered beachballs, hell port Alien Breed and Deluxe Paint if you want, but let it go.
  • Reply 62 of 66
    cablecable Posts: 76member
    Things change, AmigaDOS and Workbench got turned into AmigaOS around version 3.9 wasn't it?

To me, the Amiga was the better Macintosh. Apple should have bought it out when they had the chance.

This new system is no Amiga 500, but things change and the new Amiga had to change as well. PowerPC processor, ATX form factor, IDE hard drive, PCI slots, etc. It adapted to a PC-Dominated world. The main thing is that it is different from a PC, and offers another choice besides using a Macintosh or Linux.

Maybe it can fit in where BeOS and the BeBox failed?

I still have my old Amiga 500 that my son plays video games on.
  • Reply 63 of 66
    big macbig mac Posts: 480member