Why not Water cooling?

Comments

• Reply 181 of 219
    Quote:

Originally posted by ryaxnb

What are all the problems with air-cooling? Let's go over what you've stated so far:

Smaller: Then where are you going to put the radiator, radiator fans, and liquid?

Quieter: What about the radiator fans?

9 fans: Yes, but 9 quiet fans.

Able to move more heat: True. However, air-cooling hasn't reached it's limits yet.

There are no serious problems with air-cooling. It cools sufficiently and keeps the G5 reasonably quiet. Considering that we are not likely to see a fanless computer anytime soon (like the cube and second generation CRT iMacs), I agree that it has the best balance of proven reliability, performance, and cost.

But I do think that Apple should consider water cooling in it's future products for one reason: size. As always, correct me if I'm wrong. I am not an engineer.

Here's the way I see things: As we all know, Apple decided to go with 9 quiet fans instead of fewer loud fans in order to cool the G5 quietly. Obviously, each fan takes up some physical space within the aluminum case. And not only do the fans take of space, the 4 cooling zones within the case also requires a certain amount of dead air space to insure an uninterrupted air flow from the front to the back of the case. Otherwise, there wouldn't be any cooling.

Water cooling can centralize all of the computers heat and move it to one radiator with a streamlined cooling tunnel. The tunnel will be extremely efficient. It doesn't have any odd shaped objects such as hard drives or PCI cards that interrupt air flow thus causing noise and reduce cooling. In effect, efficiency of the radiator will allow fewer fans to be used and less dead air space will be needed. Inside the case, the internal components of the computer can be packed closer together which will allow the case to be shrunk to a smaller size.