Post your speeds - Calculate 50 Million Factorials

Comments

• Reply 41 of 146
    yevgenyyevgeny Posts: 1,148member
    Best topic ever.

Hands down the winner.

And yes, I am just saying that because I am a programmer.
  • Reply 42 of 146
    anyone managed to try the binaries yet ? Especially the G5 one!
  • Reply 43 of 146
    stoostoo Posts: 1,490member
    The department of old compilers gives you:

Duron 1300, running Win2K, using the awesome Visual Studio 98 compiler: 37s

PowerBook 12", gcc 3.1: 26s

PowerBook 12", gcc 3.3: 25s

Illustrating that the Visual Studio 98 compiler is not very quick, even when set to fastest. Anyone know where I can find a faster, free, Windows compiler ?
  • Reply 44 of 146
    3.14163.1416 Posts: 120member
    Xserve, dual [email protected], gcc 3.1:

unthreaded, no optimization: 32

unthreaded, -O3: 17

threaded, no optimization: 16

threaded, -O3: 9
  • Reply 45 of 146
    lundylundy Posts: 4,466member
    Quote:

Originally posted by 3.1416

Xserve, dual [email protected], gcc 3.1:

unthreaded, no optimization: 32

unthreaded, -O3: 17

threaded, no optimization: 16

threaded, -O3: 9

Dual Xserve 1.33 with multithreading and -O3 is lowest result so far!
  • Reply 46 of 146
    Hmm this is interesting, I just ran it on a G4 350 upgraded to a 1.2GHz G4 via sonnet and a 120GB ATA133 on a ata133 card via PCI slot. It actually ran FASTER than the MDD 1.25 we have listed in this thread

It got 18 seconds.
  • Reply 47 of 146
    qaziiqazii Posts: 305member
    Quote:

Originally posted by lundy

Well, top on the Mac shows only one process, which it is (but the process has two threads), and shows the processor usage from 0% to 200% on a dualie.

Fixing the sequential thing I'm not really sure what is going on. Let's see what the 4-thread results are. When looking at top, note what it says under the "#TH" (threads) column.

4-thread results:

Code:

./threaded_factorial

Creating Thread Number: 0

Creating Thread Number: 1