What photo printer and paper should I buy?

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
I have a bunch of questions. I would really appreciate it if you guys answered them because I'm totally new to digital photography. I just bought a Canon A70 camera and I now need to find a high-quality photo printer. I don't want to buy anything over $250 though.

1. I keep hearing that the Canon i850/i950 printers are the best photo printers, but don't work well with non-Canon photo paper, which fades quickly. What printer do you guys recommend that prints nice photos and works well with all kinds of paper?

2. Canon never lists the document speeds for the i950. How well/fast does it print b+w/color documents?

3. What is the difference b/w the new Canon i860/i960 and the older versions?

4. What is the best photo paper to use? Again, I heard Canon paper fades and isn't the best quality. I have heard great things about Epson paper...

5. Finally, what's the difference b/w the different kinds of photo paper? Like matte vs. glossy? What would I need for normal 4X6 and 8.5X11 photos?

Thanks a lot for those who answer!

Comments

• Reply 1 of 3
    Quote:

Originally posted by dferigmu

I have a bunch of questions. I would really appreciate it if you guys answered them because I'm totally new to digital photography. I just bought a Canon A70 camera and I now need to find a high-quality photo printer. I don't want to buy anything over $250 though.

1. I keep hearing that the Canon i850/i950 printers are the best photo printers, but don't work well with non-Canon photo paper, which fades quickly. What printer do you guys recommend that prints nice photos and works well with all kinds of paper?

2. Canon never lists the document speeds for the i950. How well/fast does it print b+w/color documents?

3. What is the difference b/w the new Canon i860/i960 and the older versions?