Best FTP Client

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
I am new to using an FTP Client, I currently have fetch 4.0. Is there another one that is better? easier to use?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 19
    pscatespscates Posts: 5,847member
    I think you'll hear A LOT of people here - myself included - heartily recommend Transmit.

It's all I've used for nearly two years now.
  • Reply 2 of 19
    rokrok Posts: 3,519member
    yes, if you want best ftp client, i don't think anything rivals transmit right now for user interface and features.

BUT, if you are a student, fetch is free and is halfway decent, so...
  • Reply 3 of 19
    chuckerchucker Posts: 5,089member
    Hmm, FTPeel would be such a rival to Transmit. http://freshlysqueezedsoftware.com/products/ftpeel/

Also, if you only need SCP, you could use http://rsug.itd.umich.edu/software/fugu/
  • Reply 4 of 19
    rokrok Posts: 3,519member
    damn, someone just told me about fugu (and i hadn't checked back to this thread to see your suggestion for it too, chucker). it looks eerily similar in funcion and arrangement to panic's transmit (but without the pretty icons). i mean, i am sure there are other differences, such as bbedit integration, and active previews, but for most people, this FREE front end to the software built into mac os x is a nice alternative...

(though, to be honest, i like supporting the folks at panic)
  • Reply 5 of 19
    Friend of Fetch here.
  • Reply 6 of 19
    lucaluca Posts: 3,833member
    I got Fetch free because I'm a student. It works just great. And it's a venerable application - it also runs perfectly well on my PowerBook 520c.

RBrowser Lite is free, but it's pretty confusing and difficult to use.

Also, a search for "FTP Client" turns up 80+ results, many of which are relevant... I'm not meaning to be a jerk, it's just that I've seen this same question asked and answered so many times.
  • Reply 7 of 19
    mcqmcq Posts: 1,543member
    Quote: