How do you burn a DVD?

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Hey guys, I'm trying to copy a DVD using "IDVD" and the free Apple blank DVD that I got with my new 15" Powerbook but I can't figure it out how to do it. I tried the "help" section but it doesn't really help . Any "Step by step" for an absolute beginner?? Many thanks in advance!

Comments

• Reply 1 of 12
    akumulatorakumulator Posts: 1,111member
    What do you mean copy a DVD? Are you trying to burn a home movie or copy a commercial DVD? iDVD won't let you copy commercial DVDs. You'll need some other utilities for that.... It's not a one step process either....... and not legal.
  • Reply 2 of 12
    So......you can't "copy" a DVD that you bought personally to make a back-up? And utilities that anyone can suggest? Any help........
  • Reply 3 of 12
    akumulatorakumulator Posts: 1,111member
    Search Versiontracker.com

Look for DVD rippers.
  • Reply 4 of 12
    ryukyuryukyu Posts: 450member
    DVDBackup on Versiontracker.
  • Reply 5 of 12
    alcimedesalcimedes Posts: 5,486member
    Quote:

Originally posted by ryukyu

DVDBackup on Versiontracker.

there's more to it than just that though.

first, you need an app. like DVDBackup in order to rip the information off of the DVD. DVDBackup also allows you to remove the CSS, Macrovision and Region encoding.

next you need an app like DVD2OneX. this app. is designed to recompress the movies in order to fit them on a single layer DVD. (what you have) retail DVD's push 7-9GB, your DVD is only 4.7

all in all, with those two tools on a fast machine you can make a backup of DVD's you've purchased in 40 minutes or less. and they look just like the original.

a really nice feature of this type of backup is that it allows you to remove all the extra crap they put on DVD's, and you can just backup the actual movie. if you do that, there's zero loss in quality.

oh yeah, this is probably GD material, moving now....