What do you still want back from OS 9?

13»

Comments

• Reply 41 of 47
    I didn't even know about the "Put Away" command, but now I miss it.

Elaborating a bit, I don't care so much about buttons (although they had their uses), but I do want some feature so that I could have a folder in my dock open menu style (not as a finder window) with one click instead of a click hold. I thought it might be slick to have it so a button would do this when in the dock, but it would be just as easy to have an option to make it open to a menu on one click when ctrl clicking on the dock item.
  • Reply 42 of 47
    Quote:

Originally posted by Luca Rescigno

Speaking of folder actions, I'm somewhat confused about them. What do they do? How can I use them? I've never done AppleScript before so I'm completely new at that. Are there pre-made scripts I can download and implement, maybe modify slightly to suit my own needs? I did a search but I couldn't really find anything about folder actions.

Folder Actions are basically small (or not-so-small) AppleScripts that are sorta "attached" to a folder. In these scripts you can define AppleScript commands to execute and when these commands shall be executed.

A simple (and useless ) example would be a Folder Action that renames files as soon as they are put into the folder that the action is attached to.

In Panther you can attach Folder Actions to folders by using the "Configure Folder Actions" Application inside /Applications/AppleScript.

Also, some folder action examples come pre-installed with MacOS X Panther ( you can find them in /Applications/AppleScript/Example Scripts/Folder Action Scripts).

Greetings!

durandal
  • Reply 43 of 47
    Quote:

Originally posted by ast3r3x

Are you mad, the fact that I can click and you have to click and hold (I was careful to make sure you said that instead of control click) makes me the fastest.