firewire and usb

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
I'm new to firewire and usb 2.0 and I've got a few questions:

1) I've got a usb camera and a usb hard drive enclosure. They worked fine on my PC, but they don't work with my 15" powerbook and don't even seem to be powered. Is this caused by incompatibilities with my powerbook?

2) I'm going to purchase a firewire hard drive enclosure. This will be for playing audio and video media. Will firewire 400 suffice or should I go for 800? Also what can I do with an enclosure with 2 ports?

3) I remember a while back, that there was some sort of difference between Mac and PC firewire. I think something about the number of pins. What is this about and is it still an issue. Thanks.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 3
    lucaluca Posts: 3,833member
    Quote:

Originally posted by soberbrain

I'm new to firewire and usb 2.0 and I've got a few questions:

1) I've got a usb camera and a usb hard drive enclosure. They worked fine on my PC, but they don't work with my 15" powerbook and don't even seem to be powered. Is this caused by incompatibilities with my powerbook?

It depends on which PowerBook you have. Only the latest revision has USB 2 ports - the rest have USB 1 ports. With the camera, you're absolutely sure it doesn't work? Maybe it's not supported by iPhoto. With the hard drive enclosure, it might not work if the hard drive is formatted for PC - as in, it has FAT32 or NTFS file systems. You can reformat it in HFS+ for use on a Mac. Also, USB 2 devices should work even on computers with USB 1 ports, they'll just be very slow. I'd suggest getting a new hard drive enclosure (preferably Firewire) if your PowerBook only has USB 1 ports.

Quote:

2) I'm going to purchase a firewire hard drive enclosure. This will be for playing audio and video media. Will firewire 400 suffice or should I go for 800? Also what can I do with an enclosure with 2 ports?