Graphic design student's uses of a mac (?)

2»

Comments

• Reply 21 of 33
    I am not a graphic designer, but do know people whi have been in the profession for years. They indicate tome that the entire advertising industry would not be able to function without Mac apps. Is this true?
  • Reply 22 of 33
    drewpropsdrewprops Posts: 2,321member
    Cease to function? No.

See a huge jump in the number of exasperated graphic designers? Without a doubt.
  • Reply 23 of 33
    Quote:

Originally posted by Sapper46123

I was thinking about getting a laptop, probably an iBook G4 due to my budget.

What kind of Mac do you guys think I should get? I'll be doing word processing, listenging to music, internet surfing, graphic & web design on it. Minimal games (Alpha Centauri came out in 1998 so I'm not too worried!)

Get something with a bigger / higher resolution screen. 1024x768 will be cramped if you are doing graphics work. 1024x768 is cramped if you're trying to do any serious work in any field.

Maybe a PowerMac G4? If you order one from the online Apple Store, you can click on the education link and get a discount. It's in the same price range as the iBook, but you won't be restricted by screen size since you can attach whatever screen you want to it, plus it will be faster and more expandable than a laptop.

If you absolutely must have a portable, get the 15" PowerBook. You will need the extra screen space it gives you, plus it will also be faster than the iBook. (even if the CPU is the same speed)

If you can stretch the budget a bit, I'd get the Dual 1.8 G5. On the educational store, you can get it for $2119 if you downgrade the Super Drive to a Combo Drive. That would be a great machine, but it is rather pricey. It is what I would buy if I was buying a computer right now.
  • Reply 24 of 33
    messiahmessiah Posts: 1,689member
    Any way - back on topic.