iMac G4 vs. G5 tower/ACD

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Here's the situation: My iMac DV 400 is now in its 5th year. It's done well for me. But it's time for an upgrade, sometime during 2004. Maybe spring, maybe summer. So this would be definitely after MWSF.

This is my home machine. I'm not a pro. Mostly Web, e-mail, word processing (Office X), iTunes, a little dabbling in iMovie and Photoshop Elements.

I'm thinking: 17-inch iMac G4. I like the wide screen. And it has everything I really need. Cost: $1,800.

But part of me lusts after a G5 tower. I don't need a dual, so if I bought now I'd probably get the low-end one, the 1.6 GHz. For a monitor, I'd look at the 20-inch Cinema Display. The 17-inch Studio Display is closer to my needs, but again I really prefer the wide screen and would be willing to pay extra for it. Cost: $1,800 + $1,300 = $3,100.

I'm not short on money right now, so that's not a big issue, but I'm usually not one to throw money away either. So it seems that the iMac would be the smarter buy.

But the advantage of the G5 is that, because of its more advanced specs, it would have a longer useful life before it would become outdated. But is that worth spending $1,300 extra?

Anybody want to talk me into the G5? Any factors I'm overlooking?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 11
    emaneman Posts: 7,204member
    If you don't need the G5, go with the iMac.
  • Reply 2 of 11
    pscatespscates Posts: 5,847member
    Quote:

This is my home machine. I'm not a pro. Mostly Web, e-mail, word processing (Office X), iTunes, a little dabbling in iMovie and Photoshop Elements.

This screams "iMac" to me.
  • Reply 3 of 11
    cosmonutcosmonut Posts: 4,872member
    Here's a compromise: Buy the iMac, but go with the 20". You'll be very happy. Oh, and don't say I never did anything for ya'.
  • Reply 4 of 11
    pscatespscates Posts: 5,847member