Can I Do This With iMovie?

Posted:
in iPod + iTunes + AppleTV edited January 2014
I'm new to Mac and have a question about iMovie. I'm a big fan of the BMV short films and I was wondering if the iApps will allow to sort them on a DVD. I'd love to burn them on a DVD and watch them on a TV. Is this possible? Thanks for your help.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 12
    ipodandimacipodandimac Posts: 3,273member
    if the movies are in the .mov format, import them into imovie, edit as you like, then export to quicktime using "full quality dv." from there go into idvd, import your new full quality videos, then change your menus and stuff to your desire. i think what youre after is more in idvd than imovie. let me know if you have more questions.
  • Reply 2 of 12
    homhom Posts: 1,098member
    Quote:

Originally posted by ipodandimac

if the movies are in the .mov format, import them into imovie, edit as you like, then export to quicktime using "full quality dv." from there go into idvd, import your new full quality videos, then change your menus and stuff to your desire. i think what youre after is more in idvd than imovie. let me know if you have more questions.

No this won't work. iMovie will only recognize .dv files and not .mov or anything else. If it is .mov, you should be able to drag them directly into iDVD to burn them, but the thing you need to realize is that the quality is going to be shit.
  • Reply 3 of 12
    brussellbrussell Posts: 9,812member
    iMovie is designed to take digital video, so if you have a movie in a .mov format like you'd get from the internet, you'd need Quicktime Pro (I think it's $30), to export the .mov to DV format. Then you could play with it in iMovie.

Also, if you have Toast 6, you can just drop your .mov files into it and it will convert them properly and burn them to DVD.
  • Reply 4 of 12
    treetree Posts: 30member