DVDBackup

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
Do people think it will it ever be updated again? It doesn't work with Oscar or Finding Nemo. Also there is a new app that uses the UNIX dvdbackup called Hades but it kind of is rough around the edges. I'd like to see DVDBackup updated so it works with the newest movies.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 10
    torifiletorifile Posts: 4,024member
    Have you tried first playing the movie in the DVD player? I was watching the screensavers and Leo was saying that if you open the movie in the DVD player first, it gets the decryption key and then DVDBackup will work. It was news to me as I've never done that before using the program, but maybe it'll work.
  • Reply 2 of 10
    ebbyebby Posts: 3,110member
    I discovered that by accident. I was using 3 computers to rip 3 DVD's (Futurama season 1 that we own) and it only worked on one computer. I thought there were problems with the disks so I played them using the DVD player, confirmed that they were OK, and re-ripped them. They all worked the second time. The only DVD's that didn't work for me were dirty and had to be cleaned before ripping.
  • Reply 3 of 10
    alcimedesalcimedes Posts: 5,486member
    Finding Nemo had problems with everyone's app, IIRC. there was a specific file or two that wouldn't rip. using just the movie instead of the movie and menus would work though.
  • Reply 4 of 10
    ebbyebby Posts: 3,110member
    <Sarcasm>Arrggh! Thanks a bunch alcimedes. You know I'll have to buy Finding Nemo now just to see if you are right. Of course you planned this all along... </Sarcasm>

Good movie anyways. Don't mind seeing it again. 8)
  • Reply 5 of 10
    ast3r3xast3r3x Posts: 5,012member
    I definitely thought everyone did this before they ripped. I thought it was not only common knowledge but *THE* way to do it.

Hell I have feel stupid now that I've been doing it and you don't have to!

Edit:

According to DVDBackup 1.5's Read Me:

Quote: