countdown to new g5's...

Comments

• Reply 141 of 410
    Quote:

Originally posted by ipodandimac

think about it, if its not htis week, it'll be the next. i know this sounds crazy, but apple is way overdue for a release of SOMETHING. getting a 1.6 would not only be a waste of tons of money, but performance too. we all know that the dual 2GHz already stomps the single 1.6, so why buy a 1.6 when you could spend that same money on a dual 2GHz after a new release? i dunno, its your money, but i've seen the 1.6 in action, and i tihnk you'd be a lot better off jsut waiting for updates, cause they cant be too far off.

Understood - I do lean towards a DP even if it's a 1.8 DP
  • Reply 142 of 410
    woah.... so wait. i'm a student (full-time) at a university. i can pay 99 bucks, then get like a $400 or whatever off my g5. it seems too easy, cause i could get tons of money off. there was something in there that said you had to purchase all system components at the same time (so you wouldnt get the usual student discount for some things), but whats the difference bettween purchasing on 2 orders versus "realizing" you need something else after you made that first purchase? his seems like an awesome loophole for students.
  • Reply 143 of 410
    you need to go here and read the details:

http://developer.apple.com/students/

But my understanding is you must buy it all at the same time and yes - you can save alot. You must prove your _current_ student status - takes a few days.

I figure to buy the DP 1.8 (or whatever) it's base price is 1999. I'm getting the combo/9600 for $1850
  • Reply 144 of 410
    cubistcubist Posts: 954member
    Quote:

Originally posted by ipodandimac

... apple is way overdue for a release of SOMETHING...

That's what we thought last year regarding the 15" Powerbook, remember? And it took TEN MONTHS.\
  • Reply 145 of 410
    ps5533ps5533 Posts: 476member
    Quote:

Originally posted by cubist