3D Animators on Mac?

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
I am currently studying 3D Animation, and my teacher reckons that no one in the 3D industry uses Mac's (he is trying to convinve me to sell my Mac and go PC)... besides the fact that they ARE ACTUALLY TEACHING US ON MAC'S!!!! And let us not forget that Steve JObs is also the CEO of the NUmber 1 3D Animation company on the planet.

Are there any other 3d Artists on this forum who use Mac's for their work?

Les.

PS. I am currently using Maya on a g3 400mhz, it is working okay... but takes ages to render... so soon upgrading to a g5.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 32
    ast3r3xast3r3x Posts: 5,012member
    I haven't read the articles, but this thread may talk about it a little.
  • Reply 2 of 32
    Leonis....leonis.....bueller....
  • Reply 3 of 32
    buckeyebuckeye Posts: 358member
    It isn't that NOBODY uses Macs for 3D, it is just that the percentage is low relative to windows, linux, etc. There are several major apps that don't run on Macs such as 3dMax and Softimage.

If you are using Lightwave or Maya, a G5 will serve you quite well.

I have worked on several recent animation projects from Flash to Maya that are using Macs for workstations, but not for Rendering.
  • Reply 4 of 32
    Well if your using Maya and learning Maya at school on Macs, you can stick with a Mac. 6 years ago I switched to pc because I wanted to run Softimage while I was in school, now I can just run Maya on my mac. The only downside is there's is no unlimited version yet so you wont have Fluid Effects, fur, cloth, and live match moving. But you don't need them to make great animations, and since your running complete at school too, your fine.