Intel and memory questions

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
What's really the difference between a Xeon processor and the P4? Will the Xeon perform better in Video Editing, Office, and games?

Also, I'm new to the DDR ram deal. All I have is PC133 in my comptuers. What does DDR200/266 mean. What sticks of ram can I use in a motherboard with that spec. PC2100-PC2700?? What?

Also, what OS's can I put on a motherboard w/ Dual Xeons? Win XP Pro?

Thanks much

Comments

• Reply 1 of 9
    guestguest Posts: 112member
    What's really the difference between a Xeon processor and the P4?

About 40 degrees and 500 bucks.

Will the Xeon perform better in Video Editing, Office, and games?

Yeah, it will crash that much faster. Have you considered upgrading to a Mot 68020? Welcome to "APPLEInsider".
  • Reply 2 of 9
    andersanders Posts: 6,523member
    Quote:

Originally posted by guest

Yeah, it will crash that much faster. Have you considered upgrading to a Mot 68020? Welcome to "APPLEInsider".

If I was in the marked for a PC I would ask here too. The chances of finding Intel/AND apologists is smaller here than on many PC forums. So its a relevant question, guest.
  • Reply 3 of 9
    Quote:

Originally posted by Altivec_2.0

What's really the difference between a Xeon processor and the P4? Will the Xeon perform better in Video Editing, Office, and games?

Also, I'm new to the DDR ram deal. All I have is PC133 in my comptuers. What does DDR200/266 mean. What sticks of ram can I use in a motherboard with that spec. PC2100-PC2700?? What?

Also, what OS's can I put on a motherboard w/ Dual Xeons? Win XP Pro?

Thanks much

I believe a Xeon has more cache, which should give it better performance in all of the things you asked about.

You should be able to run any recent version of Windows with that computer.