Adobe CS

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
anybody feel like blessing me with their knowledge on this package of apps? i'm a complete novice when it comes to computer stuff but i've been exposed to Pagemaker and Acrobat and so have been doing pretty fun projects on my own with inDesign. is it worth investing in (i'm still in school so i get the educational discount off the $1299 price tag) if i'm not a pro?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 11
    Short answer: No

Long answer: yes with a maybe

What kind of stuff are you planning on doing? You don't get the edu discount as just a student, you have to be an educator for it to apply. Even if you could get the discount, I wouldn't waste my money unless you are really planning on using the software. It's so powerful that you will probably never take advantage of all its features unless you really know what your doing. Just my $.02
  • Reply 2 of 11
    gabidgabid Posts: 477member
    Quote:

[/B] You don't get the edu discount as just a student, you have to be an educator for it to apply. [/B]

You sure about this? Here in Canada I can walk into my friendly campus computer store at university and pick up the full CS for under $CDN 450.
  • Reply 3 of 11
    chychchych Posts: 860member
    Heh, each part of CS is $25 at my school, i.e. Photoshop CS edu = $25, Indesign CS = $25, etc. Available to students as well.
  • Reply 4 of 11
    rokrok Posts: 3,519member
    Quote:

Originally posted by DMBand0026

Short answer: No

Long answer: yes with a maybe

What kind of stuff are you planning on doing? You don't get the edu discount as just a student, you have to be an educator for it to apply. Even if you could get the discount, I wouldn't waste my money unless you are really planning on using the software. It's so powerful that you will probably never take advantage of all its features unless you really know what your doing. Just my $.02