How to make Preview in 10.3 behave like older versions: Resample image on Zoom-in

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
One of my favorite features about Preview has been the ability to zoom into an image and have it resample the pixels so that everything looked smooth. In 10.3 the pixels are not resampled when you zoom in, so the image is pixelated. As a graphic artist, I understand why you wouldn't want this, but is there a way to turn this behavior back on in Jag's Preview?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 15
    kedakeda Posts: 722member
  • Reply 2 of 15
    Are you sure it doesnt do it? cause my works like that perfectly, of course you can only zoom in so far before the effect is lost and pixelation is just too much
  • Reply 3 of 15
    buonrottobuonrotto Posts: 6,368member
    Check your Preview preferences. There should be an option to anti-alias images in there somewhere.
  • Reply 4 of 15
    dglowdglow Posts: 147member
    Quote:

Originally posted by BuonRotto

Check your Preview preferences. There should be an option to anti-alias images in there somewhere.

No, this featured disappeared with the arrival of Panther. There is an option to "anti-alias text and line art", but this option apparently applies to PDFs, not images.

Jaguar Preview's image smoothing/interpolation was a really feature. I miss it too, Keda.

Has anyone tried running Jaguar's Preview under Panther? I'd try it, had I not clean-installed 10.3...
  • Reply 5 of 15
    defiantdefiant Posts: 4,876member
    If I remember this correctly, you just have to zoom in, then wait a few seconds, while it resamples the image. Worked for me with a .jpg
  • Reply 6 of 15
    Thanks for the replies.

I have looked in the Prefs...no luck. I wonder if there is a command line option for this.
  • Reply 7 of 15
    pbpb Posts: 4,255member
    Quote:

Originally posted by Keda

Thanks for the replies.

I have looked in the Prefs...no luck. I wonder if there is a command line option for this.