What should I buy?

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Hello everyone. I'm a newbie here.

I'm seriously considering a Mac, and have been doing research, but not sure what is best for my needs (MS Office, internet/email, music/video/photo editing).

iMacs look awesome, but obsolescence seems inevitable since they can't be upgraded, right?

Are Power Macs worth the extra investment, since they can be upgraded (RAM, CPU)?

And since I'm not in a hurry per se, should I wait for the updates potentially coming to the Mac lineup this year? I know many people get caught up in this issue of when to buy, but I pose the question because I understand that many products are (over)due for updates.

I apologize for this posting being very open-ended, but I could use some advice from the experts!

Comments

• Reply 1 of 9
    paulpaul Posts: 5,278member
    you can upgrade the ram on any computer apple sells...

and any computer apple sells will be able to fulfill your current needs and probably most of your needs in the future...

upgrading the CPU is NOT supported on ANY of apple's products, but the idea is that you will do it when the warranty expired anyway... besides it isn't the best way to spend your money anyway... you are better off selling the older computer and getting a new one...

You should get a handle on how much you are willing to spend and whether or not you want a built-in display that you can't upgrade... the 20" iMac has a beautiful display but 2 or 3 years down the road you won't be able to use it with any other computer so keep that in mind...

you should also decide if you want a laptop or not... because having a mobile computer is something that once you have, you can't live without...
  • Reply 2 of 9
    Quote:

Originally posted by StotheD

iMacs look awesome, but obsolescence seems inevitable since they can't be upgraded, right?