Questions about OSX

Posted:
in macOS edited January 2014
Okay, I'm not a newbie, I've had mac's forever. I now have the 1.3 PB G4. This is my first foray into OS X, having upgraded from system 8.1 I have wondered around the computer, yet I'm still frustrated and confused by certain things. I'm going to pick up the missing manual book I think. But in the meantime, or until I pick up the book, hope to get some words of advice here. First off, what the heck is a home folder? I'm used to just having a hard-drive icon on the desktop, and am confused about home folder with my name onit. And with expose, with the listed things on the left of a window there is desktop. Yet when clicking on desktop, the items I have sitting on my desktop appear, but the Hard Drive does not. It seems non-linear to me I guess. I'm used to having folder, double clicking them and having certain things nested. I.E. system everything under the hard drive or in a separate folder on the desktop. Also, I'm confused as to what mounting and unmounting a disk image is. I never did this with 8.1 And I have no idea what terminal is either. I realise this all makes me sound like a complete novice, and gladly admit that I may be. However, it's just frustrating because it seems to me the orginization/hierarchy of things is more complicated than simple from 8.1 Thanks for responses, and yes I still love my mac. Just tryiing to understand it's orginizational level and a few programs better.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 13
    kickahakickaha Posts: 8,760member
    Missing Manual is an *excellent* start, but here's a short primer in the meantime:

MacOS X is based on Unix, a venerable, rock solid and rather ubiquitous OS in many forms (Linux, BSD, etc, etc). Unix is, from it's core outward, *multi-user*. This is important to remember.

What's even more important to remember is that MacOS used to be *single user*. This is a huge change, and it permeates everything from top to bottom in your new OS.