Digital camera recommendations?

Posted:
in iPod + iTunes + AppleTV edited January 2014
I'm in the market for a digital camera to be purchased here in the next month or two. We're having a baby in mid-April and would like to get something decent. I'm pretty new to the whole digital camera thing so I'm not exactly sure what features I should be paying attention to. I've *a little* photography experience but have forgotten most of my camera knowledge (though I do still have my Nikon FE2 from college ).

Looking at 4 Megapixel or higher, probably a higher end prosumer kind of model. Don't have a need for a truly pro camera, just want some good and versitile. Mostly will be used for snapshots, but also perhaps for some web-based product shots, artwork for portfolio and if I get one with movie capbilities short home movie clips. Will be managing the photos from my Powerbook G4 (FW800).

A few immediate questions:

What is SLR format? Does that just refer to same body size as a normal 35mm camera?

I see CCD and CMOS sensors listed, is one preferable? Any other little compenents I should be looking at?

Optical zoom on the compacts any good? I see some (Olympus Ultra Zoom series) with 10x optical vs the typical 4x of other "compact" cameras. Digital zoom doesn't mean much to me, I do know how to use photoshop :P

Anyone have any experience with the movie capabilities of digital cameras? Some even have audio it seems. Is this feature worth it? Looks like most are 320x240 and some impose lame time limites (like 15 seconds). The most interesting is the Olympus C-770 that uses MPEG-4 (even have the Quicktime logo on the site). What other cameras are Quicktime-based?

Got some good informative digital camera (review) sites for newbies?

Any comments, suggestions or tips in the right direction would be much appreciated!!

Comments

• Reply 1 of 30
    thedustinthedustin Posts: 176member
    This thread might answer some questions. click
  • Reply 2 of 30