what to charge for a site?

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
hey im a high school student studying graphic design and my friend asked me to do a site for his company (he is also a high school student, but a grade below me) it looks to be a basic 7 page site that needs a layout and all the content put in int, my question is what do i charge him or base my pricing on?

any help would be greatly welcome.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 18
    rokrok Posts: 3,519member
    Quote:

Originally posted by millhouse

hey im a high school student studying graphic design and my friend asked me to do a site for his company (he is also a high school student, but a grade below me) it looks to be a basic 7 page site that needs a layout and all the content put in int, my question is what do i charge him or base my pricing on?

any help would be greatly welcome.

first of all, i am going to state the obvious... if you are in high school, make sure you are old enough to charge for work. and if you're friend is starting a "company," he does have to be a certain age to be selling anything, even services.

now, welcome aboard the hardest question to answer -- what do i charge???

well, a lot of it depends on what the market will bear. check around with other designers or ISPs who offer "design" in your area. there must be a few. in the city near where i live, people can charge anywhere between $1000 and $15000 per site. yet immediately in my area and smaller towns, i get laughed at if i ask for more than $500, or even $25/hour. when i was in toronto, i could get US$40 per hour without worry. but then cost of living was much higher there, too.

since you're in high school, you will have to crank back your expectations, no matter your skill level.