Personal Financial Software recommendations?

rokrok
Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
okay, i've had enough of my landlord cashing checks back-to-back or weeks late, riding alongside multiple bank machine withdrawals that, combined, came a hair's breadth from making us flat-broke this month.

now that we'll be a two-income household again, i want to look into some personal finance software to help manage all these numbers. of course quicken comes to mind, but it's been a LONG time since i have heard anyone say anything good about it. any other suggestions?

edit: by the way, i should probably state my needs. i would like to not only be able to download my quicken compatible files to it from my bank, but also manage multiple accounts, which we'll be using for the immediate future for savings and such.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 6
    trumptmantrumptman Posts: 16,464member
    My wife and I have been using Quicken on the Mac since before 1998. It has always done the job for us with regard to basic checking like you are mentioning. (basically it sounds like you balance your checking by what is remaining on the bottom of the ATM sheet after withdrawals)

Quicken gets a lot of complaints for a couple of reasons and almost all of them have to do with the downloads or features the PC version has that the Mac version does not.

The only people that are going to notice this are the true finance software guru's who want one app for everything. You might become one after a while, but certainly won't bump into for a while. (I haven't in 6 years)

The largest number of complaints I have heard about with Quicken has always been with tracking stocks and being able to download information about your trades. I prefer to keep my financial information in Quicken, but I do not use it to manage stocks, nor do I bank electronically with it. I use Wells Fargo and bank via the web. I then just enter that information into Quicken.