is Applecare worth it? + other questions

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
I'm a student, and I'm thinking of either PB 12 inch or ibook G4 800. (I'll be a switcher, although I've been using a 1.25 Ghz G4 at work for a year)

At the campus computer store, applecare is on sale for PB and is $99. For ibook, it is not on sale, and is $183.

12 inch PB 1349 + 99 Applecare=$1450

12 inch ibook 999 + 183 Applecare = 1283

Or I can get refurbished for 1000-1200 from apple.com, but applecare is $350.

I'm leaning towards the PB, I like the sure-fire clamshell, and DVI, among other things. (don't feel like messing with OF hack)

Also, my AMEX CC doubles manufacturers warranty for up to an extra year. Also allows me to make returns for 90 days (in case by some miracle G5 PB comes out)

Questions

1. Is Applecare worth it?

2. Do people often run into major problems after 1 year?

3. Have people had good experiences with Apple service?

4. What components have historically failed in PBs, and what are their replacement costs?

Accidental damage, perhaps the most likely problem within 2-3 years, would not even be covered.

Thanks for your responses. I'm excited to make the jump.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 14
    ipodandimacipodandimac Posts: 3,273member
    applecare is not worth it IMO

i dont think people have problems after a year, minus the whole logic board problems with ibooks that apple took care of.

apple service is generally very good.

displays have historically been an issue with pbo's, but apple will fix anything thats wrong.
  • Reply 2 of 14
    homhom Posts: 1,098member
    I've got to disagree. When dealing with laptops it is a very good idea to get APP. The parts are entirely integrated and miniaturized and are much more likely to fail. You don't want to be stuck with a $800 repair bill if you logic board or screen dies after 25 months.