OSX programming questions.

Posted:
in macOS edited January 2014
Ok as some of you might know my home is not blessed by OSX. Some day that will change but not anytime soon. Anyhow. I have a small amount of experence programming in Java and I want to look into other languages. So here is a few questions.

1- Coca, and Carbon are both frameworks. So I would be programming in Objective-C, right?

2- Having only a little taste of Java, I am very new to the idea of frameworks. How are they used?

3- How easy would it be to port a program written in Objective-C to OSX? What kind of libs should I be looking at to make a port easy? (noting that I am running Linux on a x86 box)

4. Do yo know of any websites, books or other media that I could read on this topic?

I would like to start playing around with another language now, on my Linux box, then when I get a new Mac I want to port some of my programs over. This is mostly a personal learning experence thing, I don't plan to be a code monkey (hope nobody gets offended by that) when I grow up.

Thanks for your time.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 12
    chychchych Posts: 860member
    Cocoa and Carbon are APIs, Carbon is done in C/C++, Cocoa is done primarily in Objective-C, secondarily in Java, and can call C++/C routines.

The Nextstep API (Cocoa) is probably a lot different from what you get in Linux, I don't think porting will be that straight forward (but I don't really know).
  • Reply 2 of 12
    Thanks..

I did not expect them to be the same as in Linux... not by far. I was just wondering about how easy it would be to port a program from one platform to another. Or more importantly, what could I do to make that process as easy as possible?
  • Reply 3 of 12
    costiquecostique Posts: 1,084member
    Quote:

Originally posted by \\/\\/ickes

1- Cocoa, and Carbon are both frameworks. So I would be programming in Objective-C, right?

See System Overview.