My 5000$ Ti-ncan - Drop a Lawsuit on Apple?

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
Post Removed

Comments

• Reply 1 of 63
    kickahakickaha Posts: 8,760member
    Um... you did the repairs yourself, violating warrantee.

You let the warrantee lapse, and *DECIDED* not to extend it.

Now you want the warrantee?

Um...

I don't think that legally you have a leg to stand on.
  • Reply 2 of 63
    johnqjohnq Posts: 2,763member
    Specifics? Might help.

Quote:

Originally posted by skaimauve

Note: Before I get labelled suspicious traitor...

- I have been working on Mac since 1984

- I have converted many friends & businesses to Mac

- I owned a SE, a 6100, a 6400, a B&W G3, an iBook, a PB G4 etc

- I own a business providing Mac support

None of that exempts you from being a traitor It just highlights the depth of your traitorousness. Kidding about the traitor part.
  • Reply 3 of 63
    Post removed
  • Reply 4 of 63
    Post removed
  • Reply 5 of 63
    kickahakickaha Posts: 8,760member
    Quote:

Hi Kickaha

My story might not be that clear, here is another take on it:

I was told by Apple that my problems (paint, DVD, dark areas on the screen) were not covered by warranty while my laptop was still under warranty.

Then I fixed the computer myself and did not extend the warranty (why pay?).

Three months later, Apple tells me that I would have been covered if I had the extended warranty: between fall 2002 and spring 2003, they changed their mind regarding the paint problems.

I can sympathize, but I still don't see that you have a legal standing in this case.

The paint was an issue that took them a long time to address, definitely.

The screen issue is something that doesn't surprise me - all backlights dim with age. The TiBooks had a faster-than-usual deathrate for some of them - looks like you were one of the unlucky ones.