Been out of the loop, have some Newb questions... (GarageBand)

Posted:
in iPod + iTunes + AppleTV edited January 2014
My apologies for asking dumb questions, but I've been slammed to the wall with teaching duties at the university since roughly September, and life will begin again soon! I keep hearing about "Garage Band", and am not sure what it is exactly. Is it a part of iLife for OSX? Is it free? If not, how much is it? Yes, I'm embarrassed to be asking these questions! But, if anyone could kindly point me to a pertinent link or two, I'd be extremely grateful.

Also (and this might not be the best place to post this but I'm a serious newb at this stuff!), I've just heard about a great sounding product called the "Nomad Jukebox", which apparently has the capability to do uncompressed live audio recording, then upload via USB or Firewire into the computer. There has been some question about whether this device can be used successfully with OSX. So I guess I have two questions:

1) Is the iPod still not capable of doing live audio recordings?

2) Has anyone here used the Nomad box for live recording with OSX?

Thanks in advance, and mods feel free to move this post by an ignorant but interested newb if it's completely in the wrong place.

P.S. - In case anyone has been wondering, I have run some searches on these things, but don't really understand the plethora of information I've found.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 16
    messiahtoshmessiahtosh Posts: 1,754member
    www.apple.com/ilife

GarageBand turns your Mac into an anytime, anywhere recording studio packed with hundreds of instruments and a recording engineer or two for good measure. It?s the easiest way to create, perform and record your own music whether you?re an accomplished player or just wish you were a rock star. And GarageBand is the newest member of the iLife family, so you can add your original music to your slideshows, your DVD menus, burn it to CDs or score your iMovie projects.