Advantages of owning a PowerBook.

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Currently I own a g4 733, running os 10.2.6 with an 60 gb harddrive, and 733 of sdram.

I am a freelance graphic designer, looking to purchase a Powerbook. My main reason is mobility, and the ability to take it where I want to go.

I am sure there are other positive reasons to purchase a powerbook, or laptop for that matter. *What advantages do you find in having a powerbook?.

In my opinion it will be an addition to my system, not a replacement. After almost three years of owning my g4 733, I am very pleased I switched, and I will NEVER go back to the dark side of windows. It is still running strong, and the powerbook would not replace my current system.

Come on guys, convice me, LOL.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 38
    Want to or not, you'll find the new Powerbooks WILL replace your system. They are VERY nice and much better than a 733Mhz Powermac in everything but internal storage, but that can be fixed with external firewire800 drives on the Powerbook. Imagine taking you work, your games, your iLife, your everything you do with a computer with you everywhere you go. I have a dual 1Ghz MDD, and I barely use that, I will probably sell it once I get the new 17" Powerbook. There's so much power in these things now, and I carry mine EVERYWHERE with me. I have a Brenthaven backpack and it protects my Powerbook like nothing else and is built like a rock. I just love having EVERYTHING with me wherever I go...that and I met my amazing girlfriend after we started talking when we saw each other's Powerbooks (she has the 12")...so I love the things.

That and I do a lot of video editing...actually, I make my living as a student with it. So it's nice to take my PB to clients, show them their project, and if they want a DVD copy, I can burn it right there in a few minutes...very cool and makes an impression on people.
  • Reply 2 of 38
    wrong robotwrong robot Posts: 3,907member