Euro iTMS mid-June!

Posted:
in iPod + iTunes + AppleTV edited January 2014
New sources indicate that we should see a Europe iTMS in mid-June!

link

Comments

• Reply 1 of 7
    homhom Posts: 1,098member
    The article implies that it will launch in the UK, Germany, and France. I wonder how Apple is going to work out the currency differences. 99¢ in the US, £ .99 in the UK, and ? .99 in France and Germany? I'm not an expert in EU trade agreements by a long shot, but doesn't the EU require that there be free trade between the countries? Could people in Greece demand access to the French or German store?

I would love some guidance from some of our well informed European members on this.
  • Reply 2 of 7
    haraldharald Posts: 2,152member
    Good question.

I guess that Apple will say "We're a US company ... we operate from Cali so tough titty!" I suppose Apple can do what it likes in this regard ...
  • Reply 3 of 7
    amorphamorph Posts: 7,112member
    Given Apple's stated goal of having iTMS be as contractually simple as possible, I wouldn't be surprised if there ends up being one European store, dispensing songs in Euros. Since Apple controls the client app, language localization shouldn't be that tough a nut to crack.

I'm not sure how they'd accomodate the British Isles, though, because I don't know how closely England and Ireland are wedded to the EU. I assume that they'd prefer that the store dealt in pounds and pence, but would a Euro-based store fly?
  • Reply 4 of 7
    macsrgood4umacsrgood4u Posts: 3,007member